The Best Ever Banana Muffins

Standard

IMG_1296

 

These are the best Banana Muffins you will ever taste! I’m not even exaggerating. I got this recipe from a Bed and Breakfast I stayed at while I was training for home hemo dialysis. I live on a farm an hour and a half away from the nearest center that provides hemo dialysis, so I had to stay at a B&B for 6 weeks while I learned how to do all of the medical procedures required. Every night at the B&B I was provided with a menu and when I woke up the next morning whatever I selected would be prepared for me to eat, and that is where I discovered these muffins. I loved eating them for breakfast warm from the oven, slathered in butter with, a piece of gouda cheese, strawberry Activia yogurt and a nice mug of Earl Grey tea doctored up with a little sugar and cream.

These muffins were so addictive that when I was done training I couldn’t imagine not eating them again.  So when I asked Gerry the owner of the B&B for the recipe and he gave it to me I was elated.  So now I will share this recipe with you all, and I hope that it will change your lives too.

 

Best Ever Banana Muffins

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup oat bran

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup melted butter

1 1/2 cups mashed bananas

3/4 cup crushed walnuts

Combine flour, oat bran, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a mixing bowl.

Beat egg, sugar, melted butter, mashed bananas and crushed walnuts together thoroughly.  Add banana mixture to dry ingredients. Stir until moistened.

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 20-25 minutes, or until top springs bake when lightly touched. Makes 12.

 

IMG_1293

 

They are best to eat when they are still slightly warm from the oven. The outside of the muffin is nice and crisp and the center is tender, moist and warm. When you rip one in half and smear it with butter it adds the right amount saltiness to match/balance the natural sweetness of the bananas.  They are quite popular at my house whenever they are made so make sure to grab one (or more) for yourself to enjoy before they are all gone.

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I’ll try these out soon! I seem to have a glut of bananas in the house today. I love bananas and walnuts together….yummy!

Leave a Reply

