How Does Your Garden Grow?

Standard

IMG_1728

With silver bells, and cockle shells,
And pretty maids all in a row

– Mary Mary, Quite Contrary

My vegetable garden is doing great, which is a surprise considering the start it had.  So far I have harvested lettuce, radishes, dill, a couple carrots, one meal of fingerling potatoes and a zucchini.  This is the first year I have planted fingerling potatoes, and they are so tasty.  After I harvested them, for our first meal I just boiled them and then tossed them with butter, fresh dill, salt and pepper.  I will be planting them again for sure next year.  They are so tender and grow to such a nice size. Two thumbs up.

IMG_1731

Here is my experimental veggie garden in front of one of my perennial gardens.  Everything looked like it was doing well, until I tried to harvest some of my Watermelon Radishes. They turned out to be all tops.  None of the ones I have picked had anything on the bottom, besides a skinny root and now they are starting to go to seed.  Hopefully the carrots and beets do better.

5 responses »

  1. Your fingerling potatoes sound delicious! Any luck with the “snake gourds”? I haven’t seen anything in my flower patch…..nor the “pumpkins on a stick”…well, it was worth a try. 🙂

    • Sad to say my snake gourds didn’t come up either, or my pumpkins on a stick. I didn’t plant all of the seeds though so I’ll try again next year.

  2. Gardening is exciting, but it also keeps up humble. You are growing some things that I have never heard of before.

Leave a Reply

