Classic Movies

Standard

TCM

Lately I’ve been PVRing older movies from AMC and TCM.  Since five times a week I have to do my hemo dialysis treatments  (3 hours each time),  I have gotten in the habit of watching some classic movies during that time.   I enjoyed some of them so much I thought that I would share a list of  the ones that are my favorites. ( In no particular order)

Bullitt

Vertigo

Escape From Alcatraz

The Thomas Crown Affair (Original)

Rear Window

The Way We Were

All Mine To Give

The Man Who Shot Liberty Valence

Little Big Man

A Raisin In The Sun

The Great Escape

The V.I.P.s

Papillon

The Shop Around The Corner

The Sting

 

jimmy                     steve         robert

 

(You can probably tell from the list of movies that Steve McQueen, Robert Redford and Jimmy Stewart are three of my favorite actors)

 

What are you favorite classic movies?

 

 

5 responses »

  1. I’m a also a big fan of Jimmy Stewart! I would say that Gone With the Wind is probably my favorite classic of all time. I feel like it’s one of the rare films that does the book justice. Great acting complimenting a great story

  2. You have listed a good selection. A couple that I really like are The Shawshank Redemption and The Mission. The former turns up on TV every once in a while and is good to see again. The Mission is dynamic, but has a sad, realistic ending. But it is a movie that stays with you.

  3. Joyfill, you are so right. The old movies have the most soul ! As well as the ones you have listed I love Citizen Kane, The Wizard of Oz, King Kong, West Side Story and some more recent ones like Blade Runner, E.T. and Jaws!

  4. Yes! Gone with the Wind……I love Scarlett O’Hara…..maybe next time I watch, she’ll change her ways…but, no!
    I love anything Alfred Hitchock did…Vertigo, North by North-West.
    I also loved Papillon and Little Big Man.
    How about The Greatest Show on Earth and Ben Hur?
    Newer shows….Still love “Signs” and “Sixth Sense” by M. Night Shyamalan (He made some stinkers, too, but we won’t talk about those!)

  5. Hey Bridget. Good choices in movies! Some of my favorite classic films, that you might enjoy include … ‘Inherit the Wind’ – a classic courtroom drama based on a landmark civil rights case from the American south. ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ … another classic courtroom drama … Gregory Peck is the lead. ‘The Great Waldo Pepper’ … and awesome adventure about barnstorming pilots in the 30s. ‘Cool Hand Luke’, ‘Kelly’s Heroes’, ‘Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid’, ‘Dog Day Afternoon’, ‘All the President’s Men’ … check them out … let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

